UD expands cooperation with Gyeongsang city, Korea



In the afternoon of February 28th 2017, the delegation of Gyeongsang City, Korea headed by Mr. Kim Heung Soo – Director of the Board of Investment and Trade of Gyeongsan city, Mr. Lee Chang U - Rector of Oriental Medicine College, Daegu Haany University, Mr. Kim Jong Moon - Head of Corporate Training Planning Division, Daegu Haany University and business representatives visited and worked with the University of Danang (UD).

During the meeting, representatives of Gyeongsan city and Daegu Hanny University expressed their wish to connect and strengthen cooperation with UD in upcoming time.

Gyeongsan is a city in North Gyeongsang Province, South Korea. Its western border abuts the metropolitan city of Daegu, and much of Gyeongsan lies within the Daegu metropolitan area. Numerous universities are located in Gyeongsan, such as Yeungnam University, Daegu University, Catholic University of Daegu and Gyeongil University.

Representatives from Gyeongsang city and Daegu Haany University

At the meeting, the two sides discussed the possible areas of cooperation: co-organizing conferences, seminars and academic forums; Exchanges of students and lecturers; Organizing cultural exchange program to introduce and promote the image of two sides, improve foreign language skills.

Daegu Haany University is a South Korean university specialized in providing training for practitioners of Oriental medicine. The main campus is located a short distance outside Daegu in Gyeongsan City, North Gyeongsang province. Another campus, along with the university hospital, operates within Daegu.

Representatives from UD and Department of Foreign Affairs of Danang at the meeting

Although the university keeps on the traditional focus on Traditional Korean Medicine, the current academic offerings cover a wide range of fields, such as child welfare, tourism, and police administration. The undergraduate courses are offered through the university's five colleges: Traditional Korean Medicine, Health and Welfare, Cultural Sciences, Business and Information, and Architecture and Design. Besides, Daegu Haany University maintains international exchange relationships with institutions in many countries: the United States (Cal Poly, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Eastern Kentucky University, University of Georgia), Taiwan (Chinese Medical School of Taiwan), China (Beijing University of Chinese Medicine, Hebei Chinese Medical School, Tianjin Chinese Medical School, Yonyung Chinese Medical School), and Australia (Macquarie University).